My Cake Designs

Yay I have a blog!

Hello! As some of you may know I have a new hobby/side job that I am taking on and learning. Cakes! One of my good friends has been making fabulous cakes for a few years now. She turned me on to the idea so here I am. I decided to blog as I go. I will try to show/explain all my trials and hopefully wonderful designs that I create. 

I signed up for the Wilton Cake Course at Michael’s. It is the first course and I have class every Wednesday night from 6:30-8:30PM. Which is perfect because it is when little Ava is sleeping. 🙂 I will be taking the classes and learning as well as practicing alot on my own. I will try to update as much as I can and post pics of what I am doing.

My first class was last night. We learned some baking basics as well as some beginning piping work. Some helpful tips I learned in class were that aluminum baking pans are better than the darker non stick pans. This is because aluminum pans create a lighter and softer cake. Another good tip I can share is that once your oven light goes off you should wait an additional 10-15 minutes for the oven to fully pre-heat.

After learning some of these baking tips we then finished the class with piping some basic star patterns on our cookies. The piping was not that difficult. I took a few pictures of the star piping on my cookies and posted them for you to see.

This weekend I will be baking, filling, and icing a cake to practice some of the techniques. Next week we will be bringing in a baked cake and learning how to color icing and do different design work. I am very excited for this class.

I will keep you posted!:)

Comments on: "Yay I have a blog!" (1)

  1. This is awesome! I need all the help I can get when it comes to cooking and baking.

Leave a Reply

